What is an Envrmnt Creator Team?
A Creator Team is an account on the Envrmnt Creator web portal for building augmented reality experiences (and for building more cool stuff in the future).
The person who creates the account is the "owner" of the team. This owner can invite others to join the account (as "members") so that everyone can work collaboratively.
What are the benefits of a Creator Team?
Assets uploaded to Envrmnt Creator and experiences made with AR Designer can be accessed and edited by everyone on the team, fostering collaboration. And through this kind of collaboration, members of a team can divide up tasks and work within each member's specialization.
For example, one team member might be an expert at 3D modelling. She can upload her work to the team, and the producer can then access that model and produce new, complete AR experiences that make use of the model. Meanwhile, product testers can access these same new experiences to make sure they function as intended. Teamwork!
How do I create a team?
When you sign up for a new account with Envrmnt, a new team is created - with you as the owner.
For now, to sign up you need to reach out to the administrators are Envrmnt.com (__contact email____) in order to create an account. The administrator will send you an email with a link to a registration page. After registering, a second email will ask you to confirm. After that, you can log in to your new team.
We will soon be enabling an online sign-up and billing process, to make creating a team so much easier!
How do I include others on my team?
Once you've created a new team and logged, in, you will find a "Team" section under Account Settings - in the side panel under the grid icon. Selecting Team will show you your Team dashboard.
Starting out, you will be the only person on the team, and you are the owner. Click on the Add button and complete the pop-up with the email of the person you want to add to your team. That person will receive an invitation in their email with a link to register. When they complete this, they will be added to your team. (They will NOT create their own team in this process – just join yours.)
Repeat this for everyone you want to join your team, up to __ different people!
Select the Invites tab above the list to see those whom you have invited and have not signed up yet.
What roles does Creator Teams support, and what can they do?
Every team must have one owner, and only one. The team owner has full access to all features and functions of the team – adding and removing members, promoting/demoting members to and admin role, and SDK permissions (if granted by Envrmnt).
Team admins have essentially all the same permissions as the owner, but they are not the point of contact for the Envrmnt administrators, and so are not responsible for billing and payments.
Team members only have access to all assets and experiences, for now (we'll soon add project permissions for team admins to grant selectively). Team members cannot add or remove other team members.
Can a team have more than one owner?
A team may have only one owner, who will be the point of contact for the Envrmnt administrators and for billing.
However, an owner can transfer ownership of a team to another member. The original owner will be demoted to a team member, losing some permissions. If for some reason this was done in error and you need help getting ownership back, contact the Envmrnt administrators for help.
How do I make someone a team admin?
While team members are restricted in how they manage the team account, team admins will have most of the same management tools as you do. They can invite and rescind, and they can remove team members (but not other team admins – that's the owner's job).
You can promote a team member to team admin from the team member list (on the Envrmnt menu, under Account Settings > Teams). On the row listing the member you want to promote, select on the Role. A pop-up menu will appear, and you can click on Admin to promote that user. You can do the same to demote the user back to Member again.
Can I be on more than one team?
Yes! The registration information you provide when signing up as an owner or member can be applied to other teams. Other teams can invite you to join, and you can work on multiple teams.
Keep in mind that you can only work on one team at a time. When you login, you'll be asked what team you want to work on now. Once logged in, you can switch what team your working on via the team name drop-down menu on the top bar.
Can I share assets and experiences between my teams?
No, you cannot. All work that has been done for one team remains exclusive to that team. When you switch working on one team to another, you will lose access (for the time being) to all the assets and experiences of the first team – in both AR Designer and in Asset Manager.
How can I delete my team?
If you want to terminate your team account, contact the administrators at Envrmnt.
A deleted account will also delete all uploaded assets and created experiences.
Team member accounts will also be deleted, unless that member is already on another team – in which case that user can continue working for that team.